Category : National Branch

Seat of Parliament: Yaounde ,Cameroon

Population: 19,711,291

Constitution: Republic

Date of Independence: 01 Jan 1960

CPA Branch Formed: 01 Jan 1995

Voting Age: 21

Branch Profile:

Current constitution: The current constitution is that of 1972, under which the federal system was replaced by a unitary republic, but extensively modified in 1990, to allow for a return from one-party rule to a multiparty system. In 1996 the presidential term was extended from five to seven years; provision was also made for the establishment of a second legislative chamber, but this has not been implemented. The constitution was amended in early 2008 to remove the limit on presidential terms. Cameroon became a member of the Commonwealth in November 1995. Political makeup of government: The Cameroon People’s Democratic Movement (RDPC), led by President Biya, retained its overall majority of seats in the National Assembly in the 2007 elections. President Biya was last re-elected in October 2004. Shortly afterwards Ephraim Inoni became prime minister in an extensive reshuffle on 8 December. The new cabinet was dominated by the RDPC as before, and also retained members of the National Union for Democracy and Progress (UNDP) and the Union of the Peoples of Cameroon (UPC). The minister for water and energy was dismissed on 22 February 2006, after allegations of corruption. The cabinet was reshuffled on 22 September 2006, and on 7 September 2007. Inoni was dismissed as prime minister on 30 June 2009 and replaced by Philemon Yang with a reshuffled cabinet. Several items of information were provided by People in Power.