Category : National Branch

Seat of Parliament: Port Louis

Population: 1,303,717 (est 2011)

Constitution: Republic

Date of Independence: 12 Mar 1968

CPA Branch Formed: 01 Jan 1934

Voting Age: 18

Branch Profile:

Current Constitution: 1968, when became independent within the Commonwealth. Constitutional amendments taking effect in March 1992 created the republic of Mauritius, replacing the British Sovereign as Head of State. The National Assembly, in November 2001, approved amendments to the Constitution giving a considerable degree of autonomy to the island of Rodrigues. Political make-up of Government: The l'Alliance de l'Avenir led by Dr the Honourable Navinchandra Ramgoolam, GCSK, FRCP, won a majority of seats in the National Assembly in the 2010 election. Dr the Honourable Navinchandra Ramgoolam was Prime Minister from 1995 to 2000, 2005-2010 and was re-elected on 05 May 2010.The new government was sworn in on 11 May 2010.