Northern Cape Seat of Parliament: Kimberley

Population: 1,103,900

Constitution: Province

Date of Independence:

CPA Branch Formed: 01 Jan 1996

Voting Age: 18

Branch Profile:

Prior to the 1994 elections, there were no Provincial Governments in South Africa. Following the election, the country was sub-divided into nine geographical areas-better known as provinces. Provincial Governments have the power to create and pass their own legislation and contribute to national policy development. Each Provincial Government is managed by its own Provincial Legislature. In the Northern Cape, the Provincial Legislature a key function of the Provincial relates to fostering public participation. Act 108 of 1996- Constitution of the Republic of South Africa clearly states that the legislative arm of government, both provincial and nationally, is required to facilitate public involvement in all legislative processes. The Legislature operates using the Westminster System that has been adopted from Britain and Canada. The Legislature opens at the beginning of year when the Premier gives his State of the Province Address; thereafter it has fixed times as to when the House sits. There is usually a recess towards the middle and end of the year respectively. MPLs debate issues of public importance, vote on Bills, pose questions to the Executive and deliberate on policy issues and budget votes. At the last general election, the African National Congress (ANC) maintained their political dominance winning 19 seats. There are 3 other parties represented in the Provincial Legislature of Northern Cape and these are the Congress of the People (COPE) with five seats, the Democratic Alliance (DA) four seats and the Independent Democrats (ID) with two seats.

Sub National Branches in South-Africa

# Name Flag
1 Eastern Cape
2 Free State
3 Gauteng
4 Kwazulu-Natal
5 Mpumalanga
6 Northern Cape
7 Limpopo
8 North West
9 Western Cape