Category : National Branch

Seat of Parliament: Maputo

Population: 22,948,858

Constitution: Republic

Date of Independence: 25 Jun 1975

CPA Branch Formed: 01 Jan 1998

Voting Age: 18

Branch Profile:

Current constitution: December 2004, modifying the Constitution of November 1990, which introduced a multiparty system. A single party form of government had previously been operated since independence in 1975 by the Front for the Liberation of Mozambique (Frente de Libertacao de Mocambique - Frelimo). For 18 years following independence the Frelimo regime had been embroiled in conflict with the rebel Mozambique National Resistance (Renamo or MNR). Political makeup of government: Frelimo holds the presidency and has an overall majority in the Assembly of the Republic. In the 2009 elections Frelimo, led by Armando Guebuza, retained both the presidency and its majority in the Assembly, but results were contested by Renamo. Frelimo increased its majority from 160 seats to 191 seats. The former rebel movement Renamo led by Afonso Dhlakama took 16.5 percent (51 seats) of the vote.The Democratic Movement of Mozambique (MDM) led by Daviz Simango took 8.6 percent ( eight seats). Several items of information provided by People in Power.